Music to Walk By

Century Village, Deerfiled Beach, Florida

Century Village, Deerfield Beach, Florida

I have been fortunate this winter to be able to walk about five miles, most mornings, around the retirement development (Century Village) in Deerfield Beach, Florida, where my parents fly the Canadian cold and coop. I love walking! I simply adore it. But my feet are not the best; nor is my voice for, that matter. Trust me on both counts. Nevertheless, I put my earbuds into my ears, crank up the volume, walk briskly, and sing aloud. Below are links to official websites of some of the musicians/composers I listen and sing to. You will be able to peruse these sites and get a feel for some of my favourite walking music. So… (drum roll)… and in no particular order…. “Music to Walk By” :

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds : http://nickcave.com/videos/

Tom Waits : http://www.tomwaits.com/videos/

Sigur Ros : http://sigur-ros.co.uk/valtari/videos/ and https://vimeo.com/sigurros/videos

Jonsi : http://jonsi.com/media

Merdith Monk : http://www.meredithmonk.org/media/concerts.html

Bjork : http://bjork.com/#!page=videos

Steve Reich : http://www.stevereich.com/ (click on mp3 or video to listen/watch)

Leonard Cohen : https://www.leonardcohen.com/videos/

Kate and Anna McGarrigle : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGfQaYnBP5Y | https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3ZCcSWaDfc | https://www.google.com/search?q=you+tube+mcgarrigle+sistgers&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8#q=youtube+mcgarrigle+sisters

Jane Siberry : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC93d8JDe9YOaGzZwVHscalQ

Lana Del Rey : http://lanadelrey.com/videos/

Neko Case : http://nekocase.com/site/videos2/

The New Pornographers : http://www.thenewpornographers.com/media/

David Byrne : https://www.youtube.com/user/DavidByrneMusic

Souad Massi : https://soundcloud.com/souad-massi

Mariem Hassan : http://www.mariemhassan.com/index.php/videos

Wim Wenders’ Soundtracks : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSJ28vGa6dY (this happens to be a snippet from one of all time favourite movies, “Wings of Desire” | https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSJ28vGa6dY | http://www.wim-wenders.com/music/

Manu Chao : http://www.manuchao.net/tvlina/

Arcde Fire : http://arcadefire.com/site/music/ (to really get you to walk quickly)

The list goes on and on and on…. but these folks are my mainstay – some of them for decades, now. If you have any music recommendations please let me know. Next blog posting: Working Music.

Century Village, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Century Village, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Century Village, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Century Village, Deerfield Beach, Florida

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Music to Walk By

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s